NEW!!! Membership Offer 

FREE GOLF & REDUCED SUBS- Click here

New members join now for 2018 and get 3 months free.

 Join as a mixed couple & lady gets 2018 subs half price!

 

   Course Open

Preferred lies off

 

 

 

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TRI-CAST Results

Sat 16th Sept: 12  13  7 No winners

 Next weeks jackpot £265 min.  Bonus £20

 

 

 

 

                                                    

Rules of Golf

Wind Is Not An Outside Agency

The most important thing for players to remember when their ball is moved by wind, casual water or some other element (earthquake!) is that there is no penalty and they must play the ball from where it comes to rest. Neither wind nor water is an outside agency. An easy, but irreverent way to remember this, is that if a player moves their ball it has to be replaced and they incur a penalty of one stroke; whereas if ‘God’ moves their ball it has to be played from where it comes to rest and there is no penalty. If the player mistakenly replaces their ball where it was before it was moved by wind they incur a penalty of two strokes for playing from the wrong place (penalty statement under Rule 18).

There are some other relevant points for me to mention on this subject;

§If a player had replaced their ball at their ball-marker when the wind moved it, they must still play their ball from where it rolls to, even though the ball-marker is still in place (Decision 20-4/1). 

§Under Rule 20-4, a ball is in play when it is replaced, whether or not the object used to mark its position has been removed. However, when a ball-marker marking the position of a lifted ball is moved by the wind, the ball-marker must be replaced without penalty (Decision 20-1/10.5).

§If an object being moved by the wind moves a ball at rest (e.g. a paper bag), the object is an outside agency. So, Rule 18-1 applies and the ball must be replaced without penalty (Decision 18-1/6).

David Frost Penalised for Dropping His Ball
Despite incurring a one stroke penalty for dropping his ball on his penultimate hole, 55-year-old South African, David Frost, went on to win the Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic by one stroke on Sunday. Frost was penalised after the coin marking his ball on the 17th green moved when he accidentally dropped the ball on it. Long-time readers of this blog will remember that Ian Poulter incurred the same penalty in November 2010.


Here are some of Frost’s post round comments regarding the incident;

"I marked the ball and as I picked it up, the ball just kind of slipped out of my hand, and it fell on my coin and it just moved the coin by…., it just moved the coin. I knew exactly where it was so I just had to scoot it back and I didn't think there was a penalty at all because I knew exactly where it was. There is some kind of Rule that says in the act of marking the ball if you drop your coin, something like that, but they told me that I dropped the ball, which is an act of negligence and I had to incur a one-stroke penalty, which I’m like, `You've got to be kidding me. Last year I get disqualified, this year I get a one-shot penalty.' It’s kind of frustrating, because, you know, you play by the Rules and you know when something, you know an act of nature like that happens, unfortunately the Rule prevails and well, luckily for me in the end it didn't make any difference and I'm happy Lehman didn't meet me in a playoff."

The “some kind of Rule” Frost referred to is Decision 20-1/15, which I copied in the aforementioned blog. Oh, by the way, the ruling has nothing to do with an "act of nature", Frost was penalised because he dropped his ball on his ball-marker and moved it!

Good golfing,

This content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes © 2015 and may not be copied without permission.

http://www.barryrhodes.com/