Dr Alister MacKenzie
World renowned Course Designer

scroll down for more

History of Crosland Heath Golf Club

Crosland Heath Golf Club was formed in 1914. The new land consisted of disused quarries and redundant farmland and needed the unique imagination of Doctor Alister MacKenzie to realise the possibilities of this wide stretch of land. MacKenzie famously went on to design courses across the world, including Royal Melbourne, Cypress Point and most prestigiously, the home of the Masters, Augusta National.

Being one of the highest courses in the country, Crosland Heath Golf Club enjoys extensive panoramic views across the town of Huddersfield stretching out well into the old East Riding. To the North, South, and West the views are equally spectacular, adding to the treat that is playing this testing heathland course.

The quality of the greens is renowned, along with the challenge that is the finest set of par three holes on one course. Despite its lofty Pennine position, it is a relatively flat, non-arduous walking course. This interesting layout changes with the climatic conditions making club selection and course management major considerations.

The overall presentation of the course will delight any visitor along with the warm welcome they will receive from members and staff. The large number of visitors returning each year bears testament to the enjoyment that is experienced at this magnificent course.

When the members of the present Cowlersley Golf Club get their new course at Crosland Heath there is one thing of which they will not be able to complain. They cannot say there is any lack of variety. I have not seen many courses in the rough, and without the eye of imagination, it is not easy to picture what the result the work of the course contractors maybe, but it requires very little of the imaginative faculty to see that away on top of the hills there above the Sands House Inn the players who follow the little white ball will have a course full of interest from the first hole to the last.
(Reproduced with kind permission from the Huddersfield Daily Examiner, 7th August 1913)